black typographical pattern

Rethinking Crime and Violence

Home Projects Rethinking Crime and Violence

Rethinking Crime and Violence

The Academy for Justice is excited to launch its newest initiative, Rethinking Crime and Violence. Ultimately, this initiative intends to provide policymakers, stakeholders, and the public with the means for understanding violence and its occurrence  and to develop appropriate, effective criminal justice response through policy and practice reform. This initiative serves to comprehensively explore and reconcile violent crime and its role in the criminal justice system.

Acknowledging that this topic is not only very broad, but also very consequential in the current discourse of criminal justice reform, the Academy for Justice has formed a Blue Ribbon Committee made up of leading scholars, drawn from numerous disciplines, who will share and integrate their academic expertise, and criminal justice professionals and policy makers who will contribute their practical expertise.

The Blue Ribbon Committee will collaborate with each other and with the Academy for Justice to ensure the conversation is robust, balanced, and innovative. Ultimately, the Rethinking Crime and Violence project will produce tangible work product to advance criminal justice policy and practice reform in the violent crime sphere. Real-life applicability is a critical measure of success for this initiative.

Blue Ribbon Committee

Project Contributors

Weldon Angelos headshot

Weldon Angelos

President of The Weldon Project, Co-Founder of MISSION[GREEN], Music Producer, and Criminal Justice Reform Advocate

Jose Ashford headshot

Jose Ashford

Professor of Human Behavior in the Social Environment in the School of Social Work and a Professor of Law and Behavioral Science, Arizona State University

Siddhartha Bandyopadhyay headshot

Siddhartha Bandyopadhyay

Director of the Centre for Crime, Justice and Policing (CCJP), University of Birmingham 

Valena Beety headshot

Valena Beety

Professor of Law, Indiana University Maurer College of Law, and Senior Research Scholar with the Academy for Justice, Arizona State University

Douglas A. Berman

Newton D. Baker-Baker & Hostetler Chair in Law and Executive Director of the Drug Enforcement and Policy Center, The Ohio State University Moritz College of Law

Kwan Lamar Blount-Hill headshot

Dr. Kwan-Lamar Blount-Hill

Ph.D., Assistant Professor of Criminology and Criminal Justice, Arizona State University, and an Affiliated scholar of John Jay College of Criminal Justice’s Research and Evaluation Center

Paul Carrillo headshot

Paul Carrillo

Vice President, Giffords Center for Violence Intervention

Paul Cassell headshot

Paul Cassell

Ronald N. Boyce Presidential Professor of Criminal Law and University Distinguished Professor of Law, The University of Utah

Jack Chin headshot

Jack Chin

Edward L. Barrett Jr. Chair and Martin Luther King Jr. Professor of Law, UC Davis School of Law

Frank Rudy Cooper headshot

Frank Rudy Cooper

William S. Boyd Professor of Law and Director of the Program on Race, Gender & Policing at the University of Nevada, Las Vegas William S. Boyd School of Law

Kelly Davis headshot

Kelly Davis

Ph.D., Associate Professor and Senior Director of Research Education and Training, Arizona State University and licensed clinical psychologist

Mark Drumbl headshot

Mark Drumbl

Alumni Professor, School of Law, Washington and Lee University

Adam Fine headshot

Adam D. Fine

Assistant Professor in the School of Criminology and Criminal Justice, Arizona State University

Hank Fradella headshot

Hank Fradella

Ph.D., Professor in the School of Criminology and Criminal Justice, Arizona State University

Garth den Heyer headshot

Dr. Garth den Heyer

Member of faculty, School of Criminology and Criminal Justice at Arizona State University, and Senior Research Fellow with the National Police Foundation

Cecelia Klingele headshot

Cecelia Klingele

Associate Professor, University of Wisconsin Law School, and a Faculty
Associate, La Follette School of Public Affairs, and the Institute for Research on Poverty

Maximo Langer headshot

Maximo Langer

David G. Price and Dallas P. Price Professor of Law, School of Law, University of California, Los Angeles

Stacy Leeds headshot

Stacy Leeds

Willard H. Pedrick Dean and Regents Professor of Law and Leadership, Sandra Day O’Connor College of Law at Arizona State University

Erik Luna

Professor of Law, Sandra Day O’Connor College of Law and Professor of Law and Affiliate Professor, School of Criminology and Criminal Justice, Arizona State University

Ben McJunkin

Ben McJunkin

Associate Professor of Law, Sandra Day O’Connor College of Law, Arizona State University

Tracey Meares headshot

L. Meares

Walton Hale Hamilton Professor, Founding Director of the Justice Collaboratory, Yale Law School

Pam Metzger headshot

Pam Metzger

Director, Deason Criminal Justice Reform Center and Professor of Law, SMU Dedman School of Law

Russ Miller headshot

Russell Miller

J.B. Stombock Professor of Law, W&L University

Clark Neily headshot

Clark Neily

Senior Vice President for Legal Studies, Cato Institute

Michael O'hear headshot

Michael O’Hear

Teaches criminal law and related courses at Marquette Law School

Mark Osler headshot

Mark Osler

Robert and Marion Short Professor of Law, University of St. Thomas

John Pfaff headshot

John Pfaff

Professor of Law, Fordham University

Jesenia Pizarro headshot

Jesenia M. Pizarro

Ph.D. is a Professor in the School of Criminology and Criminal Justice in Arizona State University

Kent Roach headshot

Kent Roach

Professor of Law, University of Toronto Faculty of Law

Benjamin van Rooij headshot

Benjamin van Rooij

Professor of Law and Society at the Faculty of Law, University of Amsterdam

Michael Scott headshot

Michael Scott 

Clinical Professor, Arizona State University’s School of Criminology and Criminal Justice and the Director of the Center for Problem-Oriented Policing

Michael Serota

Associate Professor, Loyola Law School, Director of the Criminal Justice Reform Lab, and Senior Research Scholar with the Academy for Justice, Arizona State University

Chris Slobogin

Director, Vanderbilt Law School’s Criminal Justice Program 

Anthony Smith headshot

Anthony Smith

Executive Director, Cities United

Stephen Smith headshot

Stephen F. Smith

Diane and M.O. Miller II Research Professor of Law, University of Notre Dame Law School 

Cassia Spohn headshot

Cassia Spohn

Regents Professor in the School of Criminology and Criminal Justice and an Affiliate Professor of Law at Sandra Day O’Connor College of Law, Arizona State University

Steve Twist headshot

Steve Twist

Adjunct Professor, Sandra Day O’Connor College of Law, Arizona State University, co-author Victims in Criminal Procedure, 4th Ed. Carolina Academic Press, and founder of Arizona Voice for Crime Victims

Marianne Wade headshot

Marianne Wade

Reader in Criminal Justice, Birmingham Law School, University of Birmingham

Ron Wright headshot

Ronald Wright

Professor of Criminal Law, Wake Forest University